Finishing and Starting Books

Finishing

So, to date I have submitted The Quadrants to 10 agents, and so far I have gotten back 2 rejections (they were very prompt about it too).  Six were UK based agents and four were in the US. I decided to go for the UK agents first, mainly because they sounded so much more welcoming of first time authors on their websites, and they generally don’t tend to be so pedantic about how you submit to them.

My final read through of the 367 pages is taking forever but it’s almost finished, and once it is, 20 or 30 more lucky UK agents will be receiving a submission from me.  Yay for them!  See!  I’m being persistent.

My other excitement for the week has been reading The Quadrants to my younger kids.  They say they like it (woo hoo!) but the 11 year old complained at the end of the chapter (they conned 2 out of me tonight) that he hates it how I keep ending each chapter on a cliffhanger.  “…because we just want to find out what happens, and it’s annoying coz then you stop,” he said.  Oooooh, so sad that my book is causing them pain because it’s so awesome. 😦

Also, my 14yo son has chosen to do The Quadrants for a school project, in which he has to make a trailer for a book.  Depending how it goes, I might post it.  He’ll have to read the book first, however.  He’s up to chapter 17 so far, but the night he started it I caught him still up at one in the morning reading.  It felt wrong to tell him to stop.

Starting

Although I told myself on Tuesday that I wouldn’t begin my next book until this one was completely wrapped up… I couldn’t help myself.  I held out about 10 hours before I caved and began writing the plan for it today, damn it!  It tormented me for hours last night with the story playing through in my mind, so at least I will be able to sleep tonight.

 

 

About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

