Final Read Through

Woops, I didn’t post last week, sorry.  I was furiously writing the first half of The Quadrants into a separate book of its own.  I think it’s worked well.  The three chapters I had previously cut out because of the word count thing… well, now they’re back!  There’s suddenly a place for them in the world again.  And that’s great because when my son read the whole thing, when it was the 110,000 word version, he had one compliant, and that was that at a certain point, it seemed to jumped too suddenly to the next chapter, like something was missing.  Well that’s because it was.

So, now I’m on my final read through (again) of the new shortened version of The Quadrants.  It’s complete at 63,000 words – which is within those strict word count bounds I mentioned in my previous blog Death by Word Count (https://rohsaanmcinnes.wordpress.com/2016/05/26/death-by-word-count/).  The plus side of cutting it into two books is that in the series of (now) four books, the second one is already finished!

I have to agree that this shorter version is a much easier read for the intended audience, which is 13+, and it flows nicer too, rather than ending up unbalanced as I tried to cram everything in while still cutting important bits out.

Now, after all the editing and adjusting and read-throughs, this weekend will mark the beginning of the magical event… querying. 🙂

How have you gone about tackling the word count issue in the past?  Was your book either too long or too short, and what did you do about it, if anything?

Let me all know in the comments.  I’d love to hear what you came up with.

About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in submissions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final Read Through

  1. Well done! My stories tend to grow like an avalanche and are just as difficult to sort out. More discipline needs to happen! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My problem has always been word count, aaarrrrgh! I think I need to sort it out in the planning stages, as in, don’t launch off on such an epic journey and expect it all to fit into 50-90,000 words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

