Submitting

Yay, the time to submit The Quadrants to agents has finally come!

My awesome friend, Mia, who is normally kept busy in my dungeon re-reading a multitude of manuscript drafts, researched agents for me on the weekend, and came up with a list of 40 willing to take on YA fantasy.  Thanks Mia!

So far I have submitted the new shorter version (now 76,000 words long) of The Quadrants to 7 agents.  One in Australia and the rest Canada or the US.  I’ll continue to send them out until the list is done, before moving onto a list of British agents.  Surely someone will take it… at some point-surely.

To help me continue in this belief, I turned to Google.

Harry Potter received 12 rejections before a publisher took it on and the series has since earned over $1 billion, making JK Rowling the first author to become a billionaire. (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/harry-potter/8592280/Pottermore-JK-Rowling-facts-and-figures.html)

The Princess Diaries was rejected for 3 years before finally being picked up and going on to sell 15 million copies.

OMG, I hope this doesn’t happen to me: Roots was rejected 200 times over 8 years until finally being taken on and selling 1.5 million copies in the first 7 months.

The Time Traveller’s Wife was rejected by 25 agents, so the author went directly to a publisher and was accepted.  It sold over 7 million copies and was made into a movie.

The Help was rejected 60 times and went on to be a best seller and made into a movie.

It seems that Gone with the Wind was rejected 38 times before being accepted and selling over 40 million copies.

lol, I love this one:  “To prove how hard it is for new writers to break in, Jerzy Kosinski uses a pen name to submit his bestseller Steps to 13 literary agents and 14 publishers. All of them reject it, including Random House, who had published it.” (http://www.litrejections.com/best-sellers-initially-rejected/)

24 agents rejected The Notebook, but after one accepted it, it was sold to a publisher for a million dollar deal.

Source- http://www.litrejections.com/best-sellers-initially-rejected/

I think I’ve said enough. 😉

 

About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in submissions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Submitting

  1. Pingback: Waiting, but moving on… | Rohsaan McInnes – Writer

Leave a Reply

