Current progress

Submissions = 24

Rejections = 3

MS request (partial) = 0

MS request (full) = 0

Offers of representation = 0

 

Thought you might like to read my rejections as they come in:

#1 – Thank you for querying me! However, I regret to inform you that I am not the right agent for this project. I wish you the best of luck with finding a home for it!

Short and sweet.

#2 – Thank you so much for your submission. Unfortunately I don’t feel I’m the appropriate agent to represent your work as the story just isn’t right for me.
I’m sure another agent will feel differently, and with the vast array of opinions in the industry, I wish you the best in finding the right representation.

Isn’t a story either salable or not?  And if so, then why would another agent feel differently if it’s definitely not salable.  I would think it’s less to do with personal opinion and more to do with predicting the tastes of the target audience.  For example, I tried to read The Lord of the Rings recently, but although that’s not my kind of book, I can see that other people (my brother and those like him, for example) would love it, and buy it.  And what about Harry Potter?  Apparently, although the publisher didn’t like it personally, he gave it to his daughter to read, and as she loved it,  based on that he accepted it.  So, shouldn’t that publisher, and all those who rejected HP, have been thinking from the perspective of the target audience in the first place, and not their own preferences?  Isn’t that how a business is supposed to run?

Unless of course these agents really do think my book wouldn’t sell at all, and they’re just trying to be polite, and give me hope, by suggesting someone else might take it, lol.  Perhaps they should give The Quadrants to their 13-17 year old children and see what they think. 😉

#3 – Thank you for your query.  While your project does sound interesting, I’m afraid it’s not quite right for me at this time.  I genuinely appreciate your email and wish you luck finding an agent who can successfully champion your work. 

I thought this one was really nice, though I still think it’s a stock response.

So… I wonder if there is a mysterious agent out there who my work is right for and who will be able to successfully champion my book.  I guess we’ll find out once I’ve sent it to every agent I can find on the internet.  🙂

About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in submissions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

