Editing

Submissions = 60

Rejections = 24

MS request (partial) = 0

MS request (full) = 0

Offers of representation = 0

 

So, now I’ve started on a big edit of my first book The Muse.

cover

I think I submitted the old version of it to about 25 agents, about a year ago, and now, reading over it again, I see why none of them took it.  Some of it’s really bad.  I always found the start a bit awkward but never knew how to fix it, and since the start is the main part manuscripts are judged on, it was never going to do any good until it was fixed.  I think I’ve done that now.  I think I’ve got the mood right, as well as the pace and the voice.  I’ll post the first chapter in the book section as an excerpt soon.

Even despite the fact that it’s this terrible, awkward unedited version of The Muse that’s posted on Wattpad, it’s readership is still rising, and is just about to click over to 24,000 reads!!  Plus it’s also still attracting some very passionate comments from readers.  I even got my first abusive comment last week, as the young lady seemed to be upset that the direction the story took wasn’t to her liking, lol.  I’d like to post the comment here, but I don’t think I should, sorry.  I’ll probably update Wattpad with the edited version of chapter 1, but then the rest I’ll keep to myself and have another go at agents.

Although The Muse might possibly be destined to follow the same path as The Quadrants, ie. a festival of rejections, on the other hand, it might not.  And if I don’t keep trying, the agents won’t get the chance to say yes, will they?

About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

