Real life distractions

So I’m sitting here trying to write, listening to my two youngest kids arguing over whether or not the curtains should be opened in the kids’ lounge.  It’s like a gamers’ dungeon down there and our 2 pet rats, whose cage is there too, haven’t seen the sunlight since yesterday.

I remember in an interview with J.K. Rowling, at the time she was coming to the end of writing The Deathly Hallows, she said she was trying to write but there was the constant noise of her kids coming from downstairs.  At that point she realised she now had enough money to solve the problem by going away to stay in a hotel for a few weeks until it was finished.

*Sigh*

I have neither enough money nor a husband (to take over the children) to solve my noise and interruptions problem, though I can imagine how wonderful it would be one day if I had.

I am entering the Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition today: http://www.aerogrammestudio.com/2016/11/02/the-times-childrens-fiction-competition-2016/

So I have to have my entire manuscript ready and perfect.  I know I’ve reread The Quadrants a million times, but I just didn’t feel right about sending it off without reading through it one more time.  I just wanted to check, after having a break from it, that it flows well and the balance and pacing of it are perfect.

Grrr! But right now I need to go and play and sing Let It Be on the piano with my daughter (I can hear her singing it at the top of her voice from the other room).  She’s doing this on purpose!!

The next phase of my nearly non-existant literary career will be to finally do the major edit of The Muse.  The Muse is continuing to draw in tons of readers on Wattpad and is approaching the 30,000 reads mark, despite being a fairly rough draft.

About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

