The boy in the Painting

A  few things have happened this week with my writing.  First, I’ve decided to change the title of my book The Muse, because unfortunately, in  2016,  Jessie Burton got in ahead of me and stole the title.  I think of a muse as being the inspiration to an artist/painter, but unfortunately, Jessie Burton’s The Muse isn’t about an artist or a muse from what I can tell from the blurb.  Such a waste, because it’s such a great title.  Oh well.

Image result
My fabulous editor, Mia, came up with  new title, The Artist and the Muse, but a few days later I thought of The Boy in the Painting.
Therefore:
Book 1- The Boy in the Painting
Book 2- The Painted Lawn
Book 3- The Artist and the Muse
Also, I have decided to redo the story using first person rather than third person, as it currently is.  I’ve updated the excerpt in the menu above so you can have a read of the new and improved first chapter.
It’s amazing how much my writing has improved in 2 years, and in going back over The Artist and the Muse in fine detail, I can see now why I wasn’t able to get an agent to take it on.  lol. I don’t blame them.  But now I think it is definitely sellable (except that’s what I thought before, so…), and in a few weeks I plan to try again for an agent for it.
What do you think of the new title?
Do you prefer reading 1st person or 3rd person?
About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

