Beach walks and day dreaming

This is where I walk most evenings.  I know, it’s nice isn’t it?  I used to run along the beach until I broke my leg a few months ago.  I suppose the only up side of a broken leg was that it justified the huge amount of time I spent sitting down writing over summer, since I couldn’t do much else.

So, writing update:

Next month my book club is going to read my book (The Quadrants). 🙂  I guess this is good, although I’m not certain they’ll like it that much, as they’re not exactly my target readership.  For starters they are a tad older, and not boys, though there is one man, and YA fantasy is not exactly their usual genre.  I am interested, however, to see what they think, and to see if the aspects of the book that thrilled me as the writer, have the same effect on them.  Oh well, at the very least it will mean another 7 or 8 proof readers, and they might surprise me and actually enjoy it.  Fingers crossed.  I will update you on my book club’s feedback next month.

Now that that’s done, I’m continuing on with the editing of The Boy in the Painting (Formerly know as The Muse).  I’m halfway through it, but I got distracted last night and today with my next book (Post-apocalyptic, not YA).  It’s gone beyond the plan now, and the plot has become a twisted and interwoven saga that should thrill and shock the reader (at least it does me, and that’s why I’m writing it at this stage).  I’ve begun sorting it into chapters and I spent at least an hour googling post-apocalyptic sounding names for the characters, which was fun.  I tend to give the good characters the names I like, and bad characters the names I don’t like.  I’ve also started writing out some of the major scenes in full, which have been coming to me during my walks along the previously mentioned beach.  With the mild air, the evening sea mist and the amazing sunsets, the whole thing’s very conducive to daydreaming.

Got any ideas for my post-apocalyptic characters? Examples of those I have so far are- Anders, Jonah, Demaris.

About Rohsaan McInnes

I am an aspiring author and this blog will take you along on my journey to getting published. I live in Victoria, Australia, in a seaside town where you can walk to the main street and can hear nothing but the waves at night (plus someone's cockatoo 2 or 3 blocks over-which incidentally, I like). Oh, and did I mention I have four children. :-)
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

